A population with two thousand people
Esanatoglia, born in 1862 from the combination of AESA and Anatolia, is a medieval town located in the province of Macerata in the Marche hinterland with a population of just over two thousand people nestled between Mount Gemmo and Mount Corsegno.
The city was ruled by Malcavalca until 1211 and in the same year it was took over by the Ottoni di Matelica. Three years later, and for the next three centuries, the influential family da Varano of Camerino dominated the city. Under the Varano family, the city of Santa Anatolia maintained a certain autonomy: the disclosure of the first statutory occurred in 1324. Esanatoglia remained unscathed by war and looting for a long time, and only in 1443 was conquered with the help of Matelica by Francesco I Sforza. In 1502, the fort became the property of the Papal States.
The parish church of Santa Anatolia of 1180 beautified by its bell tower is situated in the oldest part of the village and is adorned with a stone portal of the fourteenth century and a Latin epigraph of the first century BC walled in the base of the tower and refers to a place called AESA that could be a primitive village that became a Roman colony in the time of Augustus.
The Fountains of San Martino, still fully functional, represent a unique example of fourteenth-century waterworks.
Varano Palace houses a painting of the expulsion of devils from Arezzo and parades of horsemen on the main floor. Inside the Church of St. Mary Magdalene there is a painting of the Crucifixion and on the main altar, two still lifes of Flemish origin and a decorated wooden Choir. The Church of Santa Maria di Montebianco has a monument for the procession and the devotion with the Virgin Mary with child and, in the Capuchin Church, a fresco of the Madonna del Latte.
In the past the Castle of Esanatoglia was divided by three inner districts belonging to the first circle of walls dating back to the XI-XII century (the church, Middle and San Martino) and an exterior that was part of the second perimeter wall of the fourteenth century (St. Andrew divided into the villages of Santa Caterina and San Rocco). La Rocca and other fortifications served as defense and the only access was through the four gates: Panicale, Market, Portella and St. Andrew. The Gate of the village belonging to the first perimeter wall was built in the nucleus of St. Andrew where already in the fourteenth century there was a considerable commercial traffic.
The Tower of St. Andrew is enhanced by its bell towers, medieval buildings, the furnace of the fifteenth century, the Door of the church with adjacent the old paper mill, the first tannery and the local theater.
Typical products of Esanatoglia
About food, all the surrounding valley is lush with precious mushrooms and truffles to be prepared and enjoyed in many different ways, the typical dishes are pork rinds or pork rind (pig skin) with beans served with toasted bread, sweet “frostingo” made with pig’s blood, the biscuits with anise or with a waffle mixed with eggs, flour and anise, better known as the “ciarle” in addition to good Verdicchio di Matelica as local wine.